Happy 4th of July! Sunbonnet Sue Goes to Brazil!

I’m just so excited about this blog!  I know that I need to do some more work on my blog’s appearance, but it’s a learn-as-you-go experience for me. My son is helping me, but only when I can tear him away from his own computer!    But he’s a good kid and doesn’t mind lending his expertise….

So, this posting I though I’d take Sunbonnet Sue across the ocean to Brazil.  The pattern is taken from the International Sunbonnet Sue book by Debra Kimball, MD.   My last visit to Brazil was to visit Iguazu Falls, which is located at the crossroads of Brazil, Argentina, and Paraguay.   Iguazu Falls are magnificent with tons of water from the Iguazu River pounding down over the cliffs.  It’s well worth a visit if you’re ever in that vicinity.   The name “Iguazu” comes from the language of the Guarani natives.   Literally, it means “big water”, which is a bit of an understatement.   There is a Guarani legend that a great god planned to marry a beautiful woman named Naipi.  But Naipi refused her godly suitor, and fled with her mortal lover, Taroba, in a small canoe down the Iguazu River.   As he raged over his loss, the god slice the river with his giant sword, creating the waterfalls and condemning the lovers to an eternal fall into the rocky waters below.     Who knows, maybe this Sunbonnet Sue is hiding her face because she’s really Naipi?
This time around, Sunbonnet Sue has a colorful and exotic tropical bird on her arm and embroidery embellished flowers in her hair.   Lots of fun, bright colors!   If you’ve noticed that Sunny Sue has two pink streaks in her hair, that’s in honor of my daughter, who had her hair streaked on the day I was finishing this embroidery!    I hope you’ve been inspired to start your own project today.   Here’s a photo of flowers from my own garden – don’t you just love that deep pink color?!

One thought on “Happy 4th of July! Sunbonnet Sue Goes to Brazil!

  1. Oh goody … Brazil! I love her costume and the bird is delicious! So bright and colorful … just as I always thought Brazil would be. I especially love the pink strands of hair (lol)!! Poor Naipi … but a wonderful story. Thanks so much for sharing these darling Sunbonnet Sues and the wonderful stories! You are so talented!!! I can’t wait to see and read the next one.

Leave a Reply

