Sunny Sue Applique & Quilting Starts A Blog!

Welcome to this first posting on my new blog!   I decided to create this blog in order to motivate myself to create an appliqued/embroidered quilt.  My quilt is going to be based on this book, International Sunbonnet Sue, by Debra Kimball, MD, from AQS Publishing.     I’ve been a member of the U.S. Foreign Service for more than 20 years, living in more than 9 countries and visiting more than 60 other countries during this same period.  So while Ms. Kimball’s book will be the basis of my quilt (her designs are very cute, by the way!), the quilt will be the story of  my nomadic life…well, in a Sunbonnet Sue kind of way….   In any case, it looks like I’ll have to draft many of my own Sunbonnets for the countries I’ve visited – I guess that will be the tricky part.  I look forward to hearing your comments and suggestions.

>Let me show you my first square, which is Sunbonnet Sue in England (see book for pattern).<

I think she turned out cute, although I used a fancy satin fabric for the spy glass and shoes, and it shredded a bit (I’ve trimmed it up a bit so it looks better).  The pattern pieces are fused and then embroidered.   I have a few of these Sunny Sue blocks already finished, so I’ll be sharing them over the coming days.  I hope you join me on this trip around the world.

3 thoughts on “Sunny Sue Applique & Quilting Starts A Blog!

  1. these are great! I love the personalized embroidery and the stories that go with it. it may inspire me to try applique.

  2. Oh my … it looks like I ‘m back where I should have started! England and Sherlock Holmes … how cute! The eyeglass is super special. Never would I use Satin … great idea, though, for that patent leather look! Did you use wool and corduroy … that’s what it looks like to me? Sue is darling!

  3. Thank you! It’s a lot of fun to do this quilt and it is motivating me to do the blog. It’s some kind of tweed that I used, but I don’t think it’s woolen. I just have bags and bags of scraps….so this is also an effort to reduce that pile of pieces I just can’t bear to give or throw away….

Leave a Reply

