Sunbonnet Sue follows her star to Israel

Sunbonnet Sue is looking a bit ecclesiastical for my taste today, but still the colors are bright and cheerful.   In Judaism, blue symbolizes divinity, because blue is the color of the endless sky and endless sea.    Many Jewish garments will have touches of blue, as is commanded in the Torah.    Blue is also considered the color of God’s glory, and when special items, such as the Menorah, the Ark of the Covenant, and others, are transported from place to place, they are covered in blue cloth.   So today’s Sunny Sue is clearly divine, by any set of standards!

While I could wax poetic about the wonderful sights and landmarks to see in Jerusalem, you can find all of that information elsewhere.   As you may have already picked up on if you’ve been watching this blog, I like to shop.  And if you’re in Jerusalem, I suggest you visit the large souk in the center of the city.  It is filled to the rafters with some truly great art and stores and cafes and restaurants and is definitely a must-visit part of the city. 

If you’re interested in learning about the state of quilting in Israel, I suggest you check out these blogs — Milk and Honey Quilts (see blogroll), Noga Quilts (see blogroll), and Scrap Happy (see blogroll).   One of the more famous Israeli quilters is Shulamit Ron (see blogroll for her website) and there is also a 350-member strong Israeli Quilting Association (see http://www.israel-quilts.com, but you’ll need to brush up your Hebrew!).   While the excellent quality fabrics we are so fond of are available in Israel, they are expensive, but with a little imagination, Israeli quilters are making high quality quilts from readily available regional textiles.    There are a few places to shop for fabric in Jerusalem and Tel Aviv, but most of them don’t carry much in the way of cottons.  And if there are cottons, they are usually solid colors or some kind of awful baby print — at least that’s my experience.

I hope that I’ve inspired you to applique, to quilt, to embroider, to visit the wonderful city of Jerusalem and to find some divinity within yourself.  I’m leaving you with a beautiful blue hydrangea from my front yard — the head is about as big as a large dinner plate!


2 thoughts on “Sunbonnet Sue follows her star to Israel

  1. I enjoy your blog. I do like something to read on a blog. A bit of interest and a bit of information.
    As you know I am beginning to like Subonnet Sue too so I will check back regularly.

    • I’m so glad to hear you’re beginning to like Sunbonnet Sue. I cannot explain my attraction to her, except that I think she’s fun!! And looking at Sue on your blog, she looks fun there too. I’m enjoying this series of International Sunbonnet Sue. So colorful and the national costumes are interesting interpretations! Thanks for writing!

Leave a Reply

